Baptist Announces Leaders in Healthcare:

Monday, March 5, 2012

Page Image

For the second year, Chris Vaughn and Crystale Walker are leading efforts to race against cancer.

As a melanoma survivor, Vaughn is Baptist's team captain for Run From the Sun® 5K. Baptist Cancer Services is the led sponsor of this race, which will be held on April 7, 2012 at 5:30 p.m. in downtown Jackson. Vaughn added, "I am a five year survivor as of October 17, 2011 and still fighting this terrible disease today. As I think of what drives me toward this event, I am reminded of a verse that has stuck with me since going through this stage in my life. It is taken from James 1:2, 'Consider it a sheer gift, friends, when tests and challenges come at you from all sides'." Register for the race by visiting  HYPERLINK "" Baptist employees can sign up at various times during the month of March. Look for details in your Baptist email or your department.

Baptist's Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure® team captain is Walker. This year's race is April 14, 2012 at 9:00 am in downtown Jackson. Walker is leading Baptist's team in memory of her sisters who passed away from breast cancer. "They were so full of life, full of faith, and full of hope. That is why I feel so strongly about the Race for the Cure. I started participating in the race in 2000 as a way to honor and remember my sisters and show my support for this cause," Walker said. Register for the race by visiting  HYPERLINK ""

Baptist Respiratory Care Services Director Scott Lofland, BSRT, RTT serves on the Mississippi Society for Respiratory Care (MSRC) Board of Directors and as a Mississippi State Delegate to the American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC). He has been elected to the Tri-State Conference Board of Directors representing Mississippi. Last year, he spoke at the 54th AARC Congress in Tampa Florida on the subject, "Developing Respiratory Care Autonomy," which described progress with protocol development and implementation here at Baptist.


Respiratory Therapists Joseph Tillman and Sandra McLin  completed their work on advanced credentials, Tillman earned his Bachelors of Science in RT and McLin recently received her Masters of Healthcare Administration. Congratulations to Mechell Allen, Mike Duff, Steven Reed and Brandi Vance in IS for becoming certified Project Management Professionals.


Baptist Facility Operations Director Eddie James is serving on Madison The City Chamber Board of Directors.


Rick Lewis, RN, is the president for the Mississippi Emergency Nurses Association. Lewis and Emergency Department Director Patty Sturt are members of Sigma Theta Tau National Honor Society for RNs. 


Baptist Physical Therapy and SportsCare - Byram Manager Joshua Farley is the chairman of the Reimbursement Committee for the Mississippi Physical Therapy Association and on the Board of Directors for the Byram Business Association.


Carolyn Quarles, RN HRM CPHQ CPHRM, Risk Management director, is serving on the Mississippi Association for Healthcare Risk Management Board through the Mississippi Hospital Association.


Find A Doctor



Baptist Medical Clinic

Patients & Visitors


Contact Us

Physician Tools

Careers at Baptist

Employee Links

Online Services

At Baptist Health Systems

At Baptist Medical Center

close ×